Dinner

Harissa Chicken with Leeks, Potatoes and Yogurt

035_Clar_9780553448238_art_r1_Eric-Wolfinger-small

photo by Eric Wolfinger

Lately, I’ve been checking out a lot of cookbooks from the library and making meals from those books. Or at least thinking about making meals from those books when I’m not relying on staples. So while I have been cooking as much as usual, I’ve been making quick, easy meals that aren’t really blog-worthy: grilled brats, pasta … things like that.

However, I have to share this blog-worthy recipe. It’s from Dinner: Changing the Game by Melissa Clark. I think I’ve bookmarked 20 recipes from this book. I’m a big fan of Melissa Clark. Another of my favorite recipes, Roasted Broccoli with Shrimp, is hers. Her recipes are simple – when I say simple, I mean if you’re a person who is adept at cooking and familiar with more nontraditional flavors and ingredients – and always full of flavor.  Take that Roasted Broccoli with Shrimp – there aren’t many ingredients, but it works. The first time I made it, I thought, “How good could this be?” Then I basically devoured the entire pan. That’s how good it is.

So, I decided the first recipe to try from her new book was the Sheet Pan Harissa Chicken with Leeks, Potatoes and Yogurt. The picture in the book – the one on the cover – sold me. I would all caps this next sentence, but I’ll restrain myself: It is so good! We both loved this. When Jim likes something, he’ll usually say, “This is good. Thanks.” He remarked three times, during the course of the meal, how good it is. So I call that a win.

Leave a Reply

