meal planning · Uncategorized

Weekly meal plan – 4/16/17

b3082bd5fe2e332f3f129de8c79a97d1e6de43f2

We have a new range! It was installed Friday. The first thing I cooked? Hard-boiled eggs. Actually, I wanted to see how long it would take to boil water (our old stove took forever) and I figured I might as well boil some eggs while I was at it. Then, I decided to make Pickled Turmeric Eggs. I tried one after they were in the fridge overnight and they are gooooood. (It took exactly 4 minutes for a simmer, 6 minutes for a rolling boil. That’s so much faster than the old oven.)

Here’s what is on the menu this week:

Sunday was Easter and I meant to post this before that, but life, so this is what we had Sunday: Asparagus & Prosciutto Bundles, Roasted sweet potatoes, Crab cakes and Drop biscuits

Maybe it’s the warmer weather, or maybe it’s my body, but I’m feeling the need to eat lighter. So for this week’s meals (besides Easter), I’m aiming for mostly vegetarian, vegan if possible, meals. That means I think I’m going to try walnut taco “meat” or chickpea “beef.”

I got The Complete Cooking for Two Cookbook from the library, and I plan to make a couple of recipes from that this week. A lot of Cook’s Illustrated recipes aren’t available online, but I found a link to Moroccan-Style Quinoa and Kale with Raisins and Pine Nuts.

And that Sesame Soba and Ribbed Omelet Salad that I didn’t get to make a couple of weeks ago will make the menu this week.

I don’t like mushrooms, but I really want to try this recipe for Baked Mushroom Curry (it’s the mango chutney that sold me), so I’m going to attempt it with zucchini. It may be a disaster, but we’ll see. EDIT: I just read that eggplant is a good substitute for mushrooms, so I think I’ll try eggplant.

Thanks for reading!

 

 

Leave a Reply

