musings

Weekly meal plan – 4/9/17

pexels-photo-209696

A couple of weeks ago, I read an Instagram caption written by a blogger who wrote about saying “I get to” instead of saying “I have to.”

“I get to go to work today.” “I get to wake up early.” “I get to go grocery shopping.”

It really resonated.

I publish these posts on Sunday mornings as a way to set up the week. I wrote last week’s post on Saturday afternoon and scheduled it for Sunday morning. Sunday morning, I got up and made breakfast. I baked some potatoes and scrambled some eggs and went about my day. Around 5:15 p.m., I reached out to turn on the oven to start roasting cauliflower for this recipe. The range made a loud whirring sound, FLAMES SHOT OUT OF THE BACK, there was a loud pop and that was that. The range was dead af. So I ordered a pizza.

Long/frustrating/annoying/infuriating story short, our new range won’t be delivered until this coming Thursday. That’s 12 days without a stove/oven. It took four days for it to even occur to me that we have a slow cooker. So I made this soup.  It took six days for me to realize, “Oh, I can just use the gas grill. It even has a burner on the side.” And “Oh, we also have an electric griddle. I can cook more than pancakes on that thing.”

Get to.

I was so annoyed with not having a range and with the delivery schedule/mix-up – that’s another story. It really doesn’t matter because it’s not the point – that I failed to see my other options. I have so many other options. I just had to adjust my thinking.

Needless to say, I didn’t make anything I set out to make last week.  I get to save those options for another week. This week, I’m cooking on the gas grill, so there will be grilled sausages and grilled chicken grilled and grilled vegetables and probably turkey burgers.

I get to be creative and find other ways to cook. I still get to feed myself and my family. It’s something I normally take for granted, but this has been an opportunity to learn that it’s something to be very, very thankful for.

2 thoughts on “Weekly meal plan – 4/9/17

  1. I love this. Also, I made Every Recipe last week and WE LOVED THEM. There really is an art to recipe curation, and you’ve got the golden touch. It makes all the difference. Thank you!

    And congratulations on the new range! I’m sure it will be fun to have a brand new one. 🤗

Leave a Reply

