Dinner · meal planning

Weekly meal plan – 2/21/16

egg-944495_1920

Planning meals for the week saves me a lot of time and money. It also frees space in my brain. So win-win-win. For Sunday and Monday, I generally plan specific meals. For the rest of the week, I plan what I’ll make, but don’t assign a particular day. And two days a week (Thursday and Saturday) are completely up to Jim!

I’ve been doing this since the week of Jan. 3 and it really has been so helpful. There are nights when we go out or something comes up and it’s not a big deal. But having an outline of the week really helps with shopping and not buying food we don’t need and wasting food we don’t eat. I’m definitely going to keep it up.

Here is what is on the menu this week:

Sunday: Turkey tenderloin, butternut squash*/potato gratin, cornbread dressing

Monday: Butternut squash macaroni and cheese with a side salad

The rest of the week: Greek French bread pizzas, black bean veggie burgers with leftover butternut squash gratin,  crab cakes with roasted potatoes and … something green. Maybe broccoli, which is in season.

*I bought four pounds of butternut squash last week (like a crazy person), so I’m trying to come up with creative ways to use it so that we’re not completely over it and, again, not wasting food.

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly meal plan – 2/21/16

  1. Ah yes. That Butternut squash. I see it in my dreams too. I usually make soup but I tasted a great roasted Butternut squash the other day and I’ll be trying it out soon. Bon appetit, whatever you make.

  2. YES! Will you send this every week? 😀

    On Sun, Feb 21, 2016 at 8:14 PM, The Shelled Pea wrote:

    > Ronni posted: ” Planning meals for the week saves me a lot of time and a > money. It also frees space in my brain. So win-win-win. For Sunday and > Monday, I generally plan specific meals. For the rest of the week, I plan > what I’ll make, but don’t assign a particular day. ” >

Leave a Reply

