Snacks

Refrigerator Pickles

I’ve never canned anything. The process of canning kind of scares me. I’m afraid I’ll mess it up and poison myself, my family and my friends. I know it’s irrational, but there you have it. On my ‘to do’ list is learning to can. Someday, I’ll share the rest of that list with you.

An easy alternative to canning? Refrigeration. I was at the market yesterday to get tomatoes (I’m slightly obsessed) and I came across some pickling cucumbers. That was all I needed to see to push me to finally make my own refrigerator pickles.

Last year, I made dilly green beans, which were delicious, so I knew the basics of  ‘quick’ pickling. So I went online to look for recipes and after looking at approximately 294 recipes, I finally just closed the browsers, went to the kitchen and came up with this recipe. The basics are sugar, vinegar and salt. What kind of vinegar you use is really your decision. For the first batch, I used white distilled vinegar, but I think I’ll try cider vinegar for the next batch. Herbs, spices and all the extras are up to you. Really, think about what you like in a pickle and add it.

Easy Refrigerator Pickles

3 pickling cucumbers

1 cup white vinegar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon of salt

1-2 teaspoons mustard seeds

1/2 red onion, sliced

2 cloves garlic, whole and peeled

1 handful of cilantro, stems attached

1 jalapeno, thinly sliced

Wash and dry the cucumbers and slice into 1/4 inch slices.

Combine the vinegar, sugar and salt in a saucepan and cook over low heat until the sugar dissolves. Let the brine cool for a bit.

Place the sliced cucumbers and remaining ingredients into a glass jar(s). Top with the brine. Cover. Shake and refrigerate.

Refrigerate for a minimum of  6 hours before eating.  They will last about 2 weeks (probably longer if you don’t eat them all in 2 days) in the refrigerator.

One thought on “Refrigerator Pickles

  1. My mouth watered while reading this recipe, so maybe I’ll actually take the time to try it. 🙂 Will let you know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

