Home » Dessert » Chunky Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Chocolate Chipsters

Chunky Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Chocolate Chipsters

The first cookie I remember baking is a Snickerdoodle. I’m not sure where I got the recipe (maybe from the back of the bag of sugar) or even how old I was (I think maybe 11) – I just remember baking the cookies and being impressed that I had actually baked something from scratch.

I still love to bake cookies. Every year for Christmas, I bake cookies and give them to family and friends. I mean, really – what’s better than a cookie? It’s a perfect-sized treat. I know the popularity of cupcakes has exploded over the past few years, but I still think that a freshly-baked cookie is unbeatable.

My favorite is a tie between chocolate chip and oatmeal raisin. Honestly, I can’t decide which I love more. A warm chocolate chip cookie with a bit of a crispy edge and a gooey center is perfection in the form of a dessert. But a perfectly-spiced oatmeal raisin cookie with just the right amount of cinnamon and brown sugar is warm and cozy and homey and delicious. So you can see why I have a hard time choosing. Throw a peanut butter cookie into the mix and I’m just at a loss.

So when I came across a recipe for Chunky Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Chocolate Chipsters, you can imagine that I had to make those cookies immediately. These cookies combine all of my favorite tastes into one warm, soft, slightly gooey cookie. It’s easy to mix up a batch of dough, bake a few cookies and freeze the dough to use later. That way, there’s always only 13-15 minutes that stand between you and these delicious cookies.

Chunky Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Chocolate Chipsters

Slightly adapted from Baking: From my Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan

3 cups old fashioned oats

1 cup all purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp freshly ground nutmeg

1/4 tsp salt

2 sticks (8 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 cup peanut butter

1 cup sugar

1 cup (packed) light brown sugar

2 large eggs, at room temperature

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

2 cups store-bought chocolate chips or chunks

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or silicone.

Whisk together the flour, baking soda, spices and salt.

Working with a stand mixer, with a paddle attachment, or with a hand mixer in a large bowl, beat the butter, peanut butter, sugar and brown sugar on medium speed until smooth and creamy. Add the eggs one at a time, beating for 1 minute after each addition, then add the vanilla. Reduce the mixer speed to low and slowly add the dry ingredients, beating only until blended. Mix in the oats and chips by hand.

Cover and chill the dough for about 2 hours (if you have time). Drop rounded tablespoonful (or use an ice cream scoop) 2 inches apart onto the baking sheet.

Bake for 13-15 minutes. The cookies should be just firm around the edges. Let the cookies cool on the baking sheet for about 5 minutes. Transfer to a cooking rack.

Leave a Reply

